Adventures in Everyday Life

Person | Artist | Dreamer

A new leaf

leave a comment »

Recently I’ve become recharged to explore, develop and create in the environment art area of my life. I’ve planned out a new piece and so far (about 6-7 hours in) I have two finished props for the room. Here’s my progress so far:

The first prop is an angled support beam structure; each under 60 polys. As you can see from the two images, the lower portion has a band of lights around it (which I can animate).

The second is a tree with a planter, at 3998 polys for the whole shebang. It’s my first tree model (or plant model, for that matter), and though the detail level could be higher, for the sake of my poly budget I’m more than happy with the results. This guy took me about 4-5 hours to do from start to finish.

As a note, all the textures are hand-painted without any photo elements, and consist of 1024 diffuse, bump, spec and incandescence. The two beams are on one texture, and the tree, planter, branches (1 large 2 small) and leaves are on a second.

Written by parcalto

May 22, 2010 at 22:31

Posted in 3D Art, Portfolio

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment