Adventures in Everyday Life

Person | Artist | Dreamer

Studio I in progress.

leave a comment »

It’s apparent that I haven’t written in quite some time, but with good reason: I’ve been very busy. Things to note: a new board game premise based on the Metal Gear series. Also, I’ve begun texturing the M.D.U. ship. Here are some updates on that:

As you can see I’ve added all six arms to the front of the craft. What you can’t see is that I’ve locked all their attributes so that by selecting the group parents for each piece of the arm, they can be rotated and moved in only the way I’ve built them to. This will save me time on rigging, since I won’t have to do any for this ship.

This is another view in the same pose, simply showcasing how the arms looks when they are straight and when they are bent. You can also really clearly see the laser saws in the front of the ship.

Like everyone else at art school, I love these occlusionr renders. The reason I used it here is to help show some of the depth in the arms while they’re in this position. This position is a kind of “rest” position that the arms will take when the ship enters one of the docking bays in the larger Hunter Ship.

In addition to finally getting these arms arranged around the carft, each piece is UVed and I’ve done some basic occlusion baking to help add a little more life to my textures. According to my schedule, I’ll have the textures done for this ship by next thursday, so stay tuned for that!

On a similar note, I’ve all but finished the larger Hunter Ship. Here are some occlusion renders of that beast.

As you can see, the ship has really been fleshed out since that block rough in. I’ve designed each piece to appear like it has come from a different ship, as if scavanged from the various solar systems it would travel. Also, each piece is compeltely seperate geometry. In addition to what’s in the renders, there are also these large, moveable shields which will be placed across the front and sides of the ship. By the time everything is done, it should look pretty intimidating.

Written by parcalto

February 12, 2009 at 17:48

Posted in Portfolio, WIP

Leave a comment